Tuition and Other Costs

Home/Paying for College/Tuition and Other Costs

*Tuition and fees for curriculum programs are set by the North Carolina General Assembly and are subject to change without notice. Additional costs, such as textbooks, may apply. More detailed information is available in the “Curriculum Programs” tab.

* Tuition and fees shown are per semester for a NC resident enrolled full-time. Comparison does not include the cost of room and board.

Curriculum Programs

The following information is for the 2020-2021 academic year (Fall 2020, Spring 2021, and Summer 2021). Tuition and fees for curriculum programs are set by the North Carolina General Assembly and are subject to change without notice.

Tuition for full-time, in-state students carrying 16 or more semester credit hours will not exceed $1,216.00 plus fees per semester or term. Part-time students and those taking less than 16 hours will pay $76.00 per credit hour plus fees per semester hour.

Refer to www.ncresidency.org for details regarding the North Carolina Residency Determination Service, processes, and required residency guidelines.

Tuition for full-time, out-of-state students carrying 16 or more semester credit hours will not exceed $4,288.00 plus fees per semester or term. Part-time students and those taking less than 16 hours will pay $268.00 per credit hour plus fees per semester hour.

There is a $3.25 per credit hour (maximum $32.50) activity fee charged for all students enrolled in the fall semester and spring semester with the exception of high school students. This includes the cost of SGA, intramural activities, and other designated student activities and events. This fee is charged for fall and spring semesters only.

There is a $20.00 campus access fee charged fall and spring semesters and summer term. This fee is charged to all students enrolled in curriculum courses with the exception of high school students and those eligible for fee waivers.

A technology fee of $4.00 per credit hour (maximum $16.00) will be charged for each fall and spring semesters and summer term. This fee is charged to all students enrolled in a curriculum course with the exception of high school students.

All curriculum students, with the exception of high school students, enrolled are charged a student insurance fee of $1.00 fall and spring semesters and summer term. This fee covers the students with the school accident insurance policy.

Students enrolled in the following programs must purchase the college’s malpractice insurance for $15.00¬†each fall semester for coverage during the school year:

  • Associate Degree Nursing
  • Dental Assisting
  • Medical Assisting
  • Radiography
  • Respiratory Therapy

Emergency Medical Science students must purchase malpractice insurance for $66.00 each fall semester for coverage during the school year.

The insurance must be purchased prior to students doing any clinical work. This coverage protects the students and the college while the students are in their clinical courses of study.

The cost of books is approximately $300-$400 per semester. For more information about books, visit the Bookstore page.

The following courses require additional special fees as listed:

Course Fee
ART 283, 284, 285 $35 each
BPA 130, 150, 240, 250 $125 each
Basic Law Enforcement Training (BLET) $200 each term
BIO 106, 110, 111, 112, 120, 130, 140A, 143, 146, 163, 165, 166, 168, 169, 175, 275 $15 each
CMT 120 $97
CUL 110 $36 exam fee
CUL 135, 140, 160, 170, 214, 230, 240, 260, 270 $125 each
Dental Assisting $50 each term
NUR 111, 112, 113 $800 each
RCP 215 $355

In case of equipment breakage or damage due to gross negligence or maliciousness, students will be expected to remunerate the institution for the cost. Grades shall be withheld until proper payment is made.

Continuing Education

There is no charge for the instructional program and books. There is a required fee for taking a HSE test and a small graduation fee.

Registration fees vary depending upon course length. Computer classes require a registration fee and an additional $5.00 technology fee.

Persons taking Workforce Development and Community Education courses who wish to check out books from the library must obtain a library/ID card.

There will be a $25.00 service charge for all checks returned from the bank due to insufficient funds and/or closed accounts.

Registration fees for Workforce Development and Community Education classes are set by the North Carolina General Assembly and are subject to change without notice. For current registration fee information, contact the Workforce Development and Continuing Education Office at 336-838- 6210.

Insurance

Persons enrolled in the following programs must be covered by personal accident insurance or purchase school accident insurance: Law Enforcement, Carpentry, Industrial Maintenance, Electrical, Construction, Emergency Medical Technician, Masonry, Metal Working, Nursing Assistant, Phlebotomy, Plumbing, Equine Studies, and Practical Woodworking.

Persons enrolled in Emergency Medical Technician Basic, Emergency Medical Technician Intermediate, Paramedic, Nursing Assistant I, Nursing Assistant II, and Phlebotomy must be covered by malpractice insurance.

Net Price Calculator
Financial Aid
Payment Options