Care Team

See Something. Say Something.

If you observe or are made aware of student behavior that leaves you feeling concerned, worried, or alarmed, trust your instincts and say something. The Care Team can assist with the student of concern and, in some cases, provide you with suggestions as to how you can assist the student directly.

Examples of concerning behaviors include the following:

  • Unusual or abrupt changes in behaviors or patterns;
  • Extreme reaction to a loss or traumatic event;
  • Preoccupation with weapons, violent events, or persons who have engaged in violent acts;
  • Uncharacteristically poor performance;
  • References to harming others or planning a violent or destructive event;
  • Evidence of depression, hopelessness, or suicidal thoughts/plans;
  • Inappropriate responses such as prolonged irritability, angry outbursts, or intense reactions;
  • Strained interpersonal relations, isolating behaviors, or low self-esteem;
  • Significant change in life circumstances such as loss of job or relationship.

Source: Implementing Behavioral Threat Assessment on Campus: A Virginia Tech Demonstration Project, Marisa R. Randazzo, Ph.D., Ellen Plummer, Ph.D., November, 2009.

Anyone can report alarming, problematic, worrisome, and/or disruptive behavior to the Care Team by speaking directly to a team member, submitting an online form, or by calling Campus Police. Once a report is submitted, the report will be forwarded to the chair of the Care Team and the Chief of Police.

A Care Team member will reach out to you as soon as possible. For questions regarding the Care Team process, please call the Dean of Student Services at 336-838-6141.

Please note that this is not an all-inclusive list. The Care Team is always readily available to discuss scenarios concerning a student’s well-being and safety.

Reporting information to the Care Team may assist in the observation of a larger pattern of behaviors. When in doubt, please submit a report and allow the Care Team to review.

Report Concerning Student Behavior

If there is an immediate threat, call Campus Police at 336-838-6275 or call 911.
Report

Care Team Members

The purpose of the Care Team is to serve as a resource for students, faculty, and staff who have concerns regarding alarming, problematic, worrisome, and/or disruptive student behavior. The team uses a proactive approach to discuss potential problems, intervene early, and develop appropriate courses of action for referred students. The goal is to support students who may be in distress and/or whose behavior is of concern to others before situations rise to crisis levels.

Image of Scott Johnson
Scott Johnson, EdS
Dean of Student Services
Phone: 336-838-6141
sajohnson366@wilkescc.edu
Image of Lynda Black
Lynda Black, PhD, LCMHC
Director, Counseling, Career Services and Student Life
Phone: 336-838-6148
lkblack932@wilkescc.edu
Image of Kim Faw
Kim Faw, MA
Vice President of Instructional Support & Student Services
Phone: 336-838-6293
kefaw728@wilkescc.edu
Image of Renee Macemore
Renee Macemore, MS
Director of Disability, Inclusion, & Diversity
Phone: 336-838-6560
Fax: 336-903-3209
rmmacemore052@wilkescc.edu
Image of Jamie McGuire
Jamie McGuire, BS
Chief of Police
Phone: 336-838-6482
Fax: 336-903-3168
jdmcguire721@wilkescc.edu
Image of Michael Roope
Michael Roope, EdS, LCMHC
Coordinator, Career Services
Phone: 336-838-6147
msroope085@wilkescc.edu
Image of Yolanda Wilson
Yolanda Wilson, EdD
Vice President of Instruction
Phone: 336-838-6128
Fax: 336-903-3198
yswilson142@wilkescc.edu
Image of Debbie Woodard
Debbie Woodard, MA
Dean of College Readiness and Basic Skills
Phone: 336-903-3231
drwoodard792@wilkescc.edu
Image of Mindy Blackburn
Mindy Blackburn, MEd
Academic Advisor/ACA Instructor
Phone: 336-838-6488
mkblackburn197@wilkescc.edu
Image of Rebekah Gardner
Rebekah Gardner, MA
Director of College Access
Phone: 336-838-6492
rkgardner419@wilkescc.edu
Image of Kendra Perkins
Kendra Perkins, MA
Director of Curriculum and Student Services
Phone: 336-903-3116
kgperkins163@wilkescc.edu
Image of Kim Perkins
Kim Perkins, MEd
Academic Advisor/ACA Instructor
Phone: 336-838-6559
klperkins545@wilkescc.edu
Image of Jamie Reavis
Jamie Reavis, AAS
Instructor - Collision Repair
Phone: 336-838-6192
ljreavis691@wilkescc.edu
Image of Angela Roten
Angela Roten, MS
Dean of Instructional Support Services
Phone: 336-838-6535
awroten402@wilkescc.edu
Image of Amanda Wiles
Amanda Wiles, MS
Instructor - Criminal Justice
Phone: 336-838-6123
ajwiles321@wilkescc.edu
Image of Billy Woods
Billy Woods, MAEd,RCP,RRT,RRT-NPS
Dean-Health Sciences & Director-Respiratory Therapy
Phone: 336-838-6496
wdwoods000@wilkescc.edu