Wilkes Community College Dental Assisting Program recently hosted its 35th annual pinning ceremony in Wilkesboro, N.C. Sixteen students who completed the one-year diploma-level program were awarded pins in recognition of their achievement. The graduates are Madison Grace Behrer from Statesville, Julia Ann Brown from Taylorsville, Elizabeth Chavez-Meza from North Wilkesboro, Lindsey Morgan Greer from Jefferson, Laura Waddell Hamby from Wilkesboro, Julie Beth Hicks from Ararat, Melodie Brooke Hincher from Traphill, Ally Ruth Hollar from Taylorsville, Morgan Caroline Lilly from North Wilkesboro, Ashlyn Faith Morgan from North Wilkesboro, Olivia Olvera from Dobson, Jacquelin Ruiz-Lara from Jefferson, Myriah Irene Smoot from Boonville, Carol Sherlyn Vasquez from North Wilkesboro, Katlyn Brooke Walker from Hamptonville, and Hannah Claire Williams from Statesville.

The pinning ceremony began with a student-led invocation given by Katlyn Walker, a graduate of the class of 2023. Morgan Francis, the interim president of Wilkes Community College, welcomed the guests to the ceremony, and Mrs. Annette West, a faculty member of the dental assisting program, was the guest speaker. Jennifer Hastings, the lead instructor of dental assisting, presented special recognitions. Julia Brown received the Patient Care Award, Ashlyn Morgan received the Outstanding Chairside Assistant Award, and Lindsey Greer received the Scholarship Achievement Award.

The graduates were announced by Kristen Macemore, the vice president of instruction, and the pins were presented by faculty members Jennifer Hastings, Melissa Holloway, and Annette West. After receiving their pins, the graduates recited The Dental Assistants Pledge. Ashlyn Morgan, a graduate of the class of 2023, gave acknowledgments on behalf of the class. Tamara Beck, the dean of Health Sciences, gave the closing remarks, and Hannah Williams, a graduate of the class of 2023, gave the student-led benediction.

The dental assisting faculty includes Jong Byun, DDS; Christopher Dirig, DDS; Amanda Harrold, RDH; Jennifer Hastings, CDA; Melissa Holloway, CDA; Emily Maltba, DMD; Mark Mautner, DDA; Lauren Shumate, RDH; Jamie Triplett, RDH; Nicole Wagoner, RDH; and Annette West, CDA.

For further information about the Dental Assisting program, please contact Andrea Smith, the health sciences admissions advisor, at 336-838-6459 or adsmith365@wilkescc.edu.

Front row l-r: Laura Hamby, Katlyn Walker, Elizabeth Chavez-Meza, Hannah Williams
Middle row l-r: Carol Vasquez, Julie Hicks, Olivia Olvera, Melodie Hincher, Morgan Lilly, Jacquelin Ruiz-Lara, Madison Behrer, and Ashlyn Morgan
Back row l-r: Julia Brown, Myriah Smoot, Ally Hollar, and Lindsey Greer.


Ashlyn Morgan Outstanding Chairside Assistant


Julia Brown Patient Care Award


Lindsey Greer Scholarship Achievement Award