From L-R: Dr. Jeff Cox, WCC president, Zachary Holman, Matthew South, and Phil Stevens Not pictured: Chelsea Blevins, Veronica Garcia, and Hailey Kanupp.

The Watauga-Ashe-Wilkes Scholarship Endowment recently awarded $5,000 to Wilkes Community College to use for student scholarships during the 2019-2020 academic year. The scholarship is awarded to students who are residents of Watauga, Ashe, or Wilkes counties and maintain a 2.5 GPA.

The WAW Scholarship Endowment, established in 2001, aims to give students an educational opportunity that they may not have had before receiving the scholarship. The endowment is governed by the North Carolina Community Foundation and is a 501(c)(3) organization. Board members include Phil Stevens, president; Charles Hartzog, vice-president; Kim Forester, secretary; Kim Barnes, treasurer; Daphne Petrey, publicity; Michael Lyall, Watauga; Natalie Willis, Watauga; Bradley McNeil, Ashe; Danny Holman, Wilkes; and Allison Phillips, Wilkes.

The 2019-20 scholarship recipients are Zachary Holman, Ashe County; Matthew South, Wilkes County; Chelsea Blevins, Wilkes County; Veronica Garcia, Ashe County; and Hailey Kanupp, Wilkes County.

“My mother is currently in nursing school, so this scholarship has not only helped me, it has helped my entire family and has allowed me to continue my education. I will be forever thankful,” stated scholarship recipient Matthew South.

“Thank you for the opportunity to further my education,” stated scholarship recipient Zachary Holman.

For more information on scholarships or making a donation to the Wilkes Community College Foundation, call 336-838-6491.