The Wilkes Community College Dental Assisting program held the 33rd annual pinning ceremony on August 3, 2021. Sixteen dental assisting students were presented with pins to signify their successful completion of the one-year diploma program. The graduates are Jennifer Aguilar, Yadkinville; Carlee McKenzie Burton, Clemmons; Destiny Diclemente, Yadkinville; Brittany Denise Eller, Wilkesboro; Lauren Alise Eller, Mulberry; Kendra Marteena Fox, Taylorsville; Veronica Yvette H. Garcia, West Jefferson; Savannah Logan Liles, Statesville; Bria Ashlyn Lyons, Moravian Falls; Daria Rene’ Mendez, Ronda; Allison Michelle Parker, Wilkesboro; Savannah Leigh Ann Puckett, Connelly Springs; Sabrina JoLeigh Ray, Union Grove; Kamryn Alysa Semones, Pilot Mountain; Rhyne Alexandra Stewart, Boonville; and Hope Renee Ward, Statesville.

Dr. Jeff Cox, president of Wilkes Community College, welcomed the guests. The ceremony began with 2021 graduate, Brittany Eller delivering the student-led invocation. Annette West, Dental Assisting faculty was the guest speaker. Jennifer Hastings, lead instructor of Dental Assisting, provided special recognitions.

Melissa Holloway, faculty member, announced each graduate as faculty members Jennifer Hastings and Annette West presented the pins. Once all graduates received their pins, they said The Dental Assistants’ Pledge. Destiny Diclemente gave class acknowledgments. The ceremony closed with a student-led benediction by Sabrina Ray.

The dental assisting faculty comprises Jong Byun, DDS; Nikki Crislip, DMD; Christopher Dirig, DDS; Jennifer Hastings, CDA; Michelle Holland, RDH; Melissa Holloway, CDA; Lauren Shumate, RDH; and Annette West, CDA.

For more information about the Dental Assisting program contact Wendy Nichols, health sciences admissions advisor, at 336-838-6136 or

Front row l-r: Destiny Diclemente Kamryn Semones, Jennifer Aguilar, Lauren Eller, Veronica Garcia, Savannah Puckett, Bria Lyons, Brittany Eller
Back row l-r: Carlee Burton, Rhyne Stewart, Allison Parker, Kendra Fox, Hope Ward, Daria Mendez, Sabrina Ray, Savannah Liles