Wilkes Community College Foundation’s 37th Annual Henry Moore Scholarship Golf Classic was held on Thursday, November 5, 2020. There were 97 players participating. Proceeds from the tournament totaled over $46,000 and will provide scholarships to students who participate in the WCC Step Up Leadership program. Window World, Inc. was lead sponsor for the tournament held at Oakwoods Country Club.

Since 1984, the Henry Moore Scholarship Golf Classic has contributed approximately $711,610 to the WCC Foundation that supports Wilkes Community College.

Ben Garrett, Golf Tournament Committee chairperson said, “The Henry Moore Scholarship Golf Classic is one of the longest-running golf tournaments in our area. I am grateful for the support of all the players, our sponsors, volunteers, and the committee members who helped make this year’s tournament such a great success.”

The winners for the 2020 competition include:
• First place gross: Cary Rousseau, Jon Gambill, Ava Tharpe, Scotty Nichols
• First place net: Robert Joines, Bill Isenhour, James Joines, Steve Bumgarner
• Second place gross: Ben Garrett, Chris Kennedy, Ricky Brooks, Randy Brooks
• Second place net: Jeff Cox, David Shockley, Mark Byrd, Travis Reeves
• Third place gross: Wes Minton, Rip Rollins, David Adams, Keith Johnson
• Third place net: Will Buchanan, Cam Finley, Cory Pardue, Dakoda Stone
• Closest to pin #8: James Motsinger
• Closest to pin #12: Eddie Walsh
• Closest to pin #18: Rip Rollins
• Longest drive #13: (men) Jason Greene, (seniors) Ron Pearson and (women) Ava Tharpe
• Chopper Challenge: Rodney Shumaker

Event sponsors were Carolina West Wireless, Arnold and Becky Lakey, Larry and Diane Stone, Bumgarner Services, Joe Campbell Roofing, The Sterling Group, Vannoy Construction, Brushy Mountain Smokehouse and Creamery, The Ragg Company, Pepsi, Rocky Hendrix, Budweiser/RH Barringer, and Phillips Cleaning Service.

Business Team Sponsors were Finley Properties, Cutting Edge Lawn – Danny Holman, ECMD, Inc., McNeill Chevrolet Buick and Nissan, and Skyline National Bank.

Business Sponsors were Animal Hospital of Wilkes, Brushy Mtn Powersports, Carolina Realty, Inc., CS Forester Benefits Group – Chuck Forester, InfusionPoints, LLC, Vannoy Colvard Triplett and Vannoy, and Susan Whittington.

Hole Sponsors for the event were Alliance Voice & Data Services LLC, Angie Sale/Ward & Ward, Badger Funeral Home, Benson Blevins & Associates, Bob and Carol Black, Blue Ribbon Lawn Care, Blue Ridge Tractor, Brame Huie Pharmacy, Brame & Owens Financial Group, Brand Jewelry, Carolina Comfort Heating and Air, Gordon and Abby Burns, Cook’s, Don’s Seafood and Steak, Duane and Lee K Cornett, Charles M. Drum, Gardner Glass Products, Jenny Hix, McNeely Pest Control, MECI & Associates, Inc., Phillips Cleaning Service, Reins-Sturdivant Funeral Home, Carl and Peggy Swofford, Town of Wilkesboro, The 50’s, Vaughn Hayes, WFBH-Wilkes Medical Center, and Wilkes Community College

Other contributors to the event were Ashe County Cheese, Boondocks Restaurant and Brew Haus, Chick-Fil-A, Cooks, Dom Bakeries, Harold’s, Leatherwood Mountains, MerleFest, New River Brewing, Pencare Total Office, Pepsi, Tractor Supply, The Walker Center, US Foods and WCC Absher Bookstore.

Volunteers contributing their time and efforts to the tournament were Austin Anderson, Steve Hall, Ray Arnold Lakey, Ann Parsons, Christy Perry, Bobby and Susan Phillips, and Wes Whitson.

WCC Foundation Golf Committee members: Chairman, Ben Garrett, Linda Absher, Evelyn Bumgarner, Danny Holman, Arnold Lakey, Jackie Mallory, Connie McNeill, and Phil Stevens.

The golf tournament is named for the late Henry Moore, who was instrumental in the establishment of Oakwoods Country Club and a strong supporter of the college. He was eager to assist with the planning of WCC’s first golf tournament, helping with the layout and details of the tournament as well as being the first player to sign up to play. Unfortunately, Henry Moore passed away a few months prior to that first tournament in 1984. Saddened by the loss of a great friend and supporter, the college officially named the tournament the Henry Moore Golf Classic in his memory.

For more information on making a donation to the WCC Foundation, contact the Wilkes Community College Foundation Office at 336-838-6491. Contributions may be sent to WCC Foundation, P.O. Box 120, Wilkesboro, N.C. 28697.