Sunshine and temperatures in the mid-80’s accompanied golfers as they supported the Wilkes Community College Foundation while competing in the 35th Annual Henry Moore Scholarship Golf Classic on October 4, 2018. Window World, Inc. was lead sponsor for the tournament held at Oakwoods Country Club.

Proceeds from the tournament totaled approximately $50,000 and will provide scholarships to students who successfully complete the WCC Summer Bridge program. Upon completion of the 12-week session, students will receive credit for ACA 115, a required first semester course, and a $500 scholarship.

Since 1984, the Henry Moore Scholarship Golf Classic has contributed approximately $615,346 to the WCC Foundation that supports Wilkes Community College.

This year’s tournament began with Ben Garrett, Golf Tournament Committee chairperson, thanking the sponsors. “The Henry Moore Scholarship Golf Classic is one of the longest-running golf tournaments in our area, said Garrett. “I am grateful for the support of all the players, our sponsors, volunteers, and the committee members who helped make this year’s tournament such a great success.”

Wilkes Community College student ambassadors volunteered their time to help with the golf tournament. The student ambassadors were Benjamin Barker and James Alkema.

The winners for the 2018 competition include:

  • First place gross: Greg Edwards, Ron Pearson, Randall Jarvis, Randy Bumgarner
  • First place net: Ben Garrett, Chris Kennedy, Seth Rhoades, Ricky Brooks
  • Second place gross: Neil Cothren, Marc Elliott, Joey Stone, Danny Holman
  • Second place net: Jackie Mallory, Ron Brown, Wes Minton, Bob Will
  • Third place gross: Wayne Tuttle, Mike Barker, Todd Sale, Rocky Speaks
  • Third place net: Bill Elkin, Brandon Barnes, Jamie Perry, Craig Gill
  • Closest to pin #8: Wayne Tuttle
  • Closest to pin #12: Tommy Wyatt
  • Closest to pin #18: Marc Elliott
  • Longest drive #13: (men) Taylor Sidden, (seniors) James Campbell and (women) Kelsey Cardwell
  • Chopper Challenge: Jay Vannoy

Major sponsors were Werner Ladder, Carolina West Wireless, Wells Fargo, Arnold and Becky Lakey, Larry and Diane Stone, Bumgarner Services, The Sterling Group, Joe Campbell Roofing, Brushy Mountain Smokehouse and Creamery, Budweiser/RH Barringer, Rocky Hendrix, Pepsi, CAG Brands, and Duane Cornett.

Business Team Sponsors were Animal Hospital of Wilkes, Cubic, Inc., Cutting Edge Lawn and Landscape, ECMD, Inc., McNeill Nissan of Wilkesboro, and Vannoy Construction. Business Sponsors were Brushy Mountain Powersports, Chuck Forester, Elsewhere on 10th, Finley Properties, InfusionPoints, LLC, Pencare, Reins-Sturdivant, and Susan Whittington. Hole Sponsors for the event were B&R Service, Benson Blevins & Associates, PLLC, Keith and Aileen Bentley, Bob and Carol Black, Blue Ribbon Lawn Care, Blue Ridge Tractor, Brame Huie Pharmacy, Brame & Owens Financial Group, Brand Jewelry, Gordon and Abby Burns, Carolina Realty, Cook’s, Don’s Seafood and Steak, Charles M. Drum, Gardner Glass Products, Vaughn Hayes, LifeStore Bank, Louisiana Pacific, McNeely Pest Control, MECI & Associates, Inc., Mike’s Body Shop, Novant Health, Party Time Rentals, Phillips Cleaning Service, PruittHealth Hospice, Skyline National Bank, Carl and Peggy Swofford, Suncrest Farms Country Ham, Town of Wilkesboro, The 50’s, Vannoy Colvard Triplett & Vannoy, WFBH-Wilkes Medical Center, Wilkes Community College, Wilkes Economic Development Corporation, and Wilkes County Hardware. Other contributors to the event were Champion Towing, Chick-Fil-A, Robert and Lorene Joines, Leatherwood, MerleFest, Northwest Food Service, The Walker Center, and WCC Absher Bookstore.

Volunteers contributing their time and efforts to the tournament were Austin Anderson, Evelyn Bumgarner, Steve Hall, Arnold Lakey, Connie McNeill, Ann Parsons, Christy Perry, Bobby and Susan Phillips, and Hilda Smith. During dinner, Angela Roten, Dean of Instructional Support Services; Donna Brooks, WCC instructor; and Jesse Pennell, WCC Summer Bridge scholarship recipient, presented information about the Summer Bridge Program.

WCC Foundation Golf Committee members: Chairman, Ben Garrett, Linda Absher, Evelyn Bumgarner, Danny Holman, Arnold Lakey, Jackie Mallory, Connie McNeill, Phil Stevens, and Jay Vannoy.

The golf tournament is named for the late Henry Moore, who was instrumental in the establishment of Oakwoods Country Club and a strong supporter of the college. He was eager to assist with the planning of WCC’s first golf tournament, helping with the layout and details of the tournament as well as being the first player to sign up to play. Unfortunately, Henry Moore passed away a few months prior to that first tournament in 1984. Saddened by the loss of a great friend and supporter, the college officially named the tournament the Henry Moore Golf Classic in his memory.

For more information on making a donation to the WCC Foundation, contact the Wilkes Community College Development Office at 336-838-6491. Contributions may be sent to WCC Foundation, P.O. Box 120, Wilkesboro, N.C. 28697.


Participants in the 35th Annual Henry Moore Scholarship Golf Classic.


1st Place Gross team: (left to right) – Randy Bumgarner, Randall Jarvis, Ron Pearson, and Greg Edwards.


1st Place Net team: (left to right) – Chris Kennedy, Ricky Brooks, Seth Rhoades, and Ben Garrett.