Wilkes Community College and the State Employees Credit Union recognized the 2022 SECU (State Employees Credit Union) Scholarship recipients at a ceremony at Herring Hall. A total of 30 $500 scholarships were awarded for the Fall 2022 semester for the following Health Occupations programs: Nurse Aide I, Nurse Aide II, and Pharmacy Technician.

This year’s recipients are  Kimberlye Alexander, Wilkes County; Joella Villegas Arriola, Wilkes County; Patricia Bare, Wilkes County; Christina Beal, Wilkes County; Megan Byrd, Wilkes County; Jenna Childress, Yadkin County; Kaitlyn Gautier, Wilkes County; Brooke Greene, Wilkes County; Megan Greene, Wilkes County; Chaniqwa Hairston, Surry County; Donna Haithcox, Surry County; Amber Hedrick, Surry County; Alani Helms, Wilkes County; Sharon Hendrix, Wilkes County; Savannah Hunt, Wilkes County; Julie Jordan, Wilkes County; Marcos Limon, Wilkes County; Monica Meyer, Wilkes County; Kristina Miller, Alexander County; Laura Moxley, Alleghany County; Brittney Osborne, Wilkes County; Katelyn Parker, Wilkes County; Noelle Perkins, Wilkes County; Monica Puebla, Wilkes County; Luis Ramirez, Wilkes County; Taylor Robbins, Wilkes County; Dina Royal, Wilkes County; Rosemary Van Westin, Wilkes County; and Angel Ward, Wilkes County.

Scholarship recipient Brooke Greene states, “I am currently in the Healthcare Academy, completing my Nurse Aide I class. Most of the students that are enrolled in the Healthcare Academy are applying to nursing school next year and we are using these classes as a stepping stone into nursing school.” She adds, “Without this scholarship, most of us would not have been able to go through the academy. We were able to use the money to purchase our scrubs, pay for our CNA state test, and pay for tuition. It really went a long way and I just want to say thank you!”

In support of NCCCS Workforce Continuing Education students, the SECU Foundation has established the SECU Bridge to Career Program to remove financial barriers for students seeking to obtain state-regulated or industry-recognized credentials that lead to family-sustaining wage careers within their local communities through Workforce Continuing Education at their local Community College.

L-r: W.C. Scroggs, SECU Advisory board member; Tamika Parks, VP, SECU Branch 36 Wilkesboro; Misty Marshburn, Health Occupations director; Jeff Shore, director of Workforce Development and Community Education and Business Training; Kimberlye Alexander, Rose Merrie Van Westin, Amber Hedrick, Alani Helms, Brooke Greene, Megan Greene, Marcos Limon, Katelyn Parker, Reggie Hill, SECU advisory board member, and Christina Beal.
Not pictured: Joella Villegas Arriola, Patricia Bare, Megan Byrd, Jenna Childress, Kaitlyn Gautier, Donna Haithcox, Chaniqwa Hairston, Amber Hedrick, Sharon Hendrix, Savannah Hunt, Julie Jordan, Monica Meyer, Kristina Miller, Laura Moxley, Brittney Osborne, Noelle Perkins, Monica Puebla, Luis Ramirez, Taylor Robbins, Dina Royal, and Angel Ward.