Student Activities

//Student Activities
Student Activities2019-09-13T10:52:29-04:00

The Office of Student Activities offers students a wide range of co-curricular programs. It is the belief of the WCC Student Activities Office that when students are afforded such opportunities they will graduate with a greater sense of self direction and a higher level of satisfaction with the institution.

All activities (clubs or special events) are advised by staff and faculty members who are committed to providing the kind of dedicated leadership which promotes successful achievement of organizational goals, but which also allows ample freedom for student innovation and decision making.

Student Information

The Gilreath Wellness Center is named in honor of former Student Services Staff Member, Reverend Coot Gilreath. It is located on the first floor of Alumni Hall. It contains several types of fitness equipment and is open during regular college operating hours for current Wilkes Community College faculty, staff and curriculum students. All users must first attend a 10 minute certification session which is offered the first few weeks of each semester. Sessions are posted outside the door of the center and emailed to students at the start of the new semester. A valid student id is required for use of this wellness center. Contact Sabrina Bowman or Michael Roope for more information.

Student Activities and Events

The Student Activities Department strives to provide a number of on-campus and off-campus student activities and events throughout the semester. The activities hosted, encourage students to: become active, network with others, develop relationships, strengthen campus engagement, and overall promote global awareness that one can take outside of the campus environment. At the beginning to each semester, informational cards are passed out to students that outline a list of campus activities for the semester. Activities used in the past include, but are not limited to: holiday socials, intermural sports, scavenger hunts, turkey bowling, festivals, club day, skiing, ziplining, and so much more. To find out more about campus activities, feel free to contact Sabrina Bowman. Before events, flyers are posted and emails are sent out to promote the upcoming event.

Student Activity Forms

WCC Clubs and Organizations

Animal Science Club

Advisor: Matthew Greene, 336-838-6226
mpgreene628@wilkescc.edu
Assistant Advisor: Frank Blevins
fdblevins615@wilkescc.edu

Architectural Technology Club
Advisor: Stacie Taylor, 336-838-6551
sbtaylor965@wilkescc.edu
Assistant Advisor: Daniel Triplett
dltriplett327@wilkescc.edu

Auto Body Club
Advisor: Jamie Reavis, 336-838-6192
ljreavis691@wilkescc.edu

Automotive Systems Technology Club
Advisor: Johnny O’Connell, 336-838-6284
jtoconnell205@wilkescc.edu

Building Construction Club
Advisor: Shane Allen, 336-838-6409
gsallen069@wilkescc.edu

Club Biz
Advisor: Matt Baldwin, 336-838-6161
mjbaldwin795@wilkescc.edu
Assistant Advisor: Kim Teztlaff
kstetzlaff523@wilkescc.edu

Club of the Arts
Advisor: Amber Arnder, 336-838-6410
abarnder632@wilkescc.edu

Collegiate Future Farmers of America – WCC (CFFA)
Advisor: Donna Riddle, 336-838-6435
deriddle368@wilkescc.edu

Culinary & Baking Club
Advisor: Celena Nilo, 336-838-6506
canilo749@wilkescc.edu
Assistant Advisor: Chuck Wallace
cdwallace743@wilkescc.edu

Dental Assisting Club
Advisor: Jennifer R. Hastings, 336-838-6253
jrhastings018@wilkescc.edu

Engineering Technology Club
Advisor: Bryan Hartzog, 336-838-6228
jbhartzog762@wilkescc.edu
Assistant Advisor: Keith Casey
ikcasey998@wilkescc.edu
Assistant Advisor: Jason Hodge
jehodge722@wilkescc.edu
Assistant Advisor: Stacie Taylor
sbtaylor965@wilkescc.edu

Global Perspective Scholars (GPS) Club
Advisor: Rick Laws, 336-903-3120
rdlaws837@wilkescc.edu

Helping Every Little Person (HELP) Club
Advisor: Melissa Miller, 336-838-6587
mgmiller993@wilkescc.edu

Horticulture Club
Advisor: Donna Riddle, 336-838-6435
deriddle368@wilkescc.edu
Assistant Advisor: Frank Blevins
fdblevins615@wilkescc.edu

Human Service Club
Advisor: Erica Harper, 336-838-6523
esharper121@wilkescc.edu

Medical Assisting Club
Advisor: Whitney Golding, 336-838-6526
wmgolding255@wilkescc.edu

National Technical Honor Society
Advisor: Kristy Caldwell, 336-838-6218
ekcaldwell120@wilkescc.edu

Phi Theta Kappa
Advisor: Dr. Nolan Belk, 336-838-6507
pnbelk997@wilkescc.edu

Radiography Club
Advisor: Courtney Lackey, 336-838-6438
cwlackey428@wilkescc.edu

Relationship Not Religion (RnR) Ministries
Advisor: Melonie Kilby, 336-838-6163
mjkilby410@wilkescc.edu

Respiratory Therapy Association Club
Advisor: Vickie Bell, 336-838-6512
vsbell636@wilkescc.edu

Rotaract Club – Wilkes Campus
Advisor: Beth Foster, 336-838-6173
bafoster167@wilkescc.edu

Rotaract Club – Alleghany Center
Advisor: TBA
Contact: Susan Nilo, 336-903-3141
srnilo128@wilkescc.edu  

Student Ambassadors
Advisor: Morgan Burnette, 336-838-6509 
mfbarnette687@wilkescc.edu
Assistant Advisor: Andrea Gimlin
acgimlin744@wilkescc.edu

Students Overcoming Boundaries in Education (SOBIE) Club
Advisor: Renee Macemore, 336-838-6212
rmmacemore052@wilkescc.edu
Assistant Advisor: April Teague
arteague507@wilkescc.edu

Student Game Development Club
Advisor: Jere Miles, 336-838-6437
jdmiles944@wilkescc.edu

Student Government Association (SGA)
Advisor: Sabrina Bowman, 336-838-6142
sabowman606@wilkescc.edu

Student Leadership Council (Ashe)
Advisor: TBA
Contact Kendra Perkins or Loretta Johnson

Student Nurses Association – 1st Year
Advisor: Jayne Phipps-Boger, 336-838-6411
jrphipps-boger480@wilkescc.edu
Assistant Advisor: Billie Shumate
bmshumate180@wilkescc.edu

Student Nurses Association – 2nd Year
Advisor: Valerie Bailey, 336-838-6257
vwbailey856@wilkescc.edu
Assistant Advisor: Emily Orr
edorr738@wilkescc.edu
Assistant Advisor: Dawn Hendren, 336-838-6250
dwhendren976@wilkescc.edu

WCC Skills USA “Champions at Work”
Advisor: Hardin Kennedy, 336-838-6219
hckennedy819@wilkescc.edu

Welding Club
Advisor: Jayden Gantt, 336-838-6208
jagantt177@wilkescc.edu

Student Activities/Events

september 2019

24sep12:30 pm1:00 pmWilkes Campus - Finish Line GrantWCC Calendars:Activities,Career Services

25sep9:00 am1:00 pmWilkes Campus - Kindness RocksWCC Calendars:Activities

25sep12:00 pm1:00 pmWilkes Campus - Digital DirtWCC Calendars:Activities,Career Services

26sep12:20 pm12:50 pmWilkes Campus - Coffee Talk: Kindness RocksWCC Calendars:Activities

Student Services Links

Contact Information

Image of Sabrina Bowman
Sabrina Bowman, MA
Student Activities Coordinator/Admissions Representative
Phone: 336-838-6142
sabowman606@wilkescc.edu
X