Wilkes Community College Wilkes Community College
Wilkes Community College
YouTube Shutterfly Facebook Twitter Facebook

Arts and Sciences

 

The Arts and Sciences Division offers a number of programs designed to be completed over a two-year period. Students completing one of these academic programs are awarded an Associate degree.
Some programs are university parallel-college transfer programs and provide the first two years of academic work on a four-year baccalaureate degree track.
 

 

Dean:    Blair Hancock    (336) 838-6230 
Administrative Assistant:  Cynthia Alford  (336) 838-6229 
Please visit the department for details.     

   

 

 

Faculty & Staff of Arts and Sciences 
Hancock, Blair M.,
Dean, Arts & Sciences
Instructor, English
Lead Transfer Advisor, CTAC

B.A., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
M.A., Appalachian State University
Additional Graduate Studies:
Appalachian State University, Western Carolina University, and University of North Carolina at Greensboro
blair.hancock@wilkescc.edu
 

Blair Hancock  

Arts & Sciences Programs of Study 

Associate Degrees that may lead to transfer to senior institutions: 

Associate in Arts Degree 

Associate in Science Degree 

Associate in General Education
not covered by UNC Comprehensive Articulation Agreement)
 

 

College Transfer Advising Center -- CTAC 

   
Alford, Cynthia C.                 Administrative Assistant                                   A.A.S.Wilkes Community College
cynthia.alford@wilkescc.edu
 

Cynthia Alford  
   

Belk, P. Nolan
Lead Instructor, English
B.A., Wingate
M.A., University of North Carolina at Charlotte
M.F.A., University of North Carolina at Wilmington
                                                      Ph.D., UNC-Greensboro nolan.belk@wilkescc.edu 


Nolan Belk 
 
     
Brown, David B.
Instructor, Developmental Studies
B.A., Berea College
M.A., Appalachian State University
Additional Graduate Studies:
University of North Carolina at Greensboro david.brown@wilkescc.edu
 

David Brown 
 
     
Craft, Jeremy
Instructor, Biology
B.S. Appalachian State University
M.S. Western Carolina University
jeremy.craft@wilkescc.edu
 

Jeremy Craft 
 
     
Finney, R. Darrell
Chair, Math and Sciences
Lead Instructor, Mathematics
B.S. and M.A., Appalachian State University
darrell.finney@wilkescc.edu
 

Darrell Finney 
 
     
Fowler, Jonathan
Instructor, History
B.A. and M.A., UNC Greensboro,
A.A. Guilford Technical Community College
jonathan.fowler@wilkescc.edu
 

Jonathan Fowler 
 
     
Gaither, Patricia G.
Lead Instructor, Sociology
B.A. North Carolina State University
M.S. Brigham Young University
trish.gaither@wilkescc.edu
 
Trish Gaither   
     
Hutchinson, Tam
Instructor, Math
B.S. and M.A., Wake Forest University
Additional Graduate Studies, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
tam.hutchinson@wilkescc.edu
 

Tam Hutchinson 
 
     
Ingledue, Thomas C.
Lead Instructor, Biology
B.S., Gonzaga University
Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
tom.inguledue@wilkescc.edu
 

Thomas Ingledue 
 
     

Martin, Cinnamon C.
Chair, Social, Behavioral & Exercise Sciences; Lead Instructor Anthropology & Sociology and
Instructor, Psychology
Lead Transfer Advisor, CTAC
B.A., North Carolina State University
M.A., Appalachian State University
cinnamon.martin@wilkescc.edu
 


Cinnamon Martin  
 
     
McNeil, Iva R.
Lead Instructor, Developmental Math
B.S. and M.A., Appalachian State University
Additional Graduate Studies, Appalachian State University
iva.mcneil@wilkescc.edu
 

Iva McNeil 
 
     
Mitchell, Sharon L.
Instructor, English
B.A., Appalachian State University
M.A., Western Carolina University and Middle Tennessee University
sharon.mitchell@wilkescc.edu
 

Sharon Mitchell 
 
     
Muir, Lisa N.
Instructor, English
B.A., Florida Atlantic University
M.A., Virginia Tech
Ph.D., West Virginia University
lisa.muir@wilkescc.edu
 

Lisa Muir 
 
     
Mullis, Julie A.
Chair, Arts and Communication
Lead Instructor, Humanities; Instructor, English
B.A., University of North Carolina at Charlotte
M.A., Appalachian State University
julie.mullis@wilkescc.edu
 

Julie Mullis 
 
     
Neil, George E.
Lead Instructor, Physics
A.A.S., Brookdale Community College
B.S., Cook College, Rutgers University
M.S.T., Rutgers Graduate School of Education
george.neil@wilkescc.edu
 

George Neil 
 
     
Reynolds, Beth H.
Chair, Developmental Studies
B.S.B.A. and M.A., Appalachian State University
beth.reynolds@wilkescc.edu
 

Beth Reynolds 
 
     
Richardson, Nathan J.
Lead Instructor, Spanish/Foreign Languages
Director of Global Education

B.A. Western Michigan University
MA University of North Carolina at Charlotte
nathan.richardson@wilkescc.edu
 

Nathan Richardson 
 
     
Richey, G. Alan
Lead Instructor, Psychology, Political Science & Religion
B.A., University of North Carolina at Charlotte
M. Div., Southeastern Theological Seminary Additional Graduate Studies, Appalachian State University
alan.richey@wilkescc.edu
 

Alan Richey 
 
     
Schneider, Nicolas W.
Lead Instructor, Fine Arts
B.A. University of Montana
M.F.A. State University of New York
Additional Graduate Studies, International School of Art in Umbria, Italy.

nick.schneider@wilkescc.edu
 
Nick Schneider   
     
Triplett, Neal
Lead Instructor, Chemistry
B.S.,Appalachian State University
M.S.,University of North Carolina at Wilmington
neal.triplett@wilkescc.edu
 
Neil Triplett   
     
Whitman, Jennifer K.
Instructor, Biology
M.A. Wake Forest University
jennifer.whitman@wilkescc.edu
 

Jennifer Whitman  
 
     
Wyatt, Jessica L.
Lead Instructor, History
B.S. and M.A., Appalachian State University
jessica.wyatt@wilkescc.edu
 

Jessica Wyatt